George Etheredge (’15) Explores Life through Photography

I moved to Asheville when I was ten years old and am now 23. A year after I moved to Asheville I started skateboarding, which has given me a community of creative friends, led me to travel to many places, see things in a way that many people do not, and most have all taught me to be persistent. It has hands down been the most influential thing in my life and has been the catalyst for what I find important and who I am today. After high school I took a year off to travel, work and experience life without regards to any specific schedule that school had driven into me after 15 years. I soon realized that getting out of the daily routine of school, I was instead just switching from one routine to another. I got very tired of working random jobs that I had no interest in or input in and decided that I needed to go back to school to keep my mind active and open.

I started school at AB-Tech to work towards my Associates degree and eventually transfer to a 4-year school. A semester before earning my Associates degree I had the chance to go travel Europe for a few months and skateben-rorey-jacob044did. I was in the Czech Republic for the majority of the time, but also traveled in Germany, Austria, and visited some friends that I met through skateboarding in Norway. It was an amazing experience and changed my outlook on many things. I started to shoot some photos while I was traveling, but nothing serious. When I got back to Asheville I finished up my Associates degree, and decided to learn about photography and start shooting photos.  Being in Europe was great but the language barrier made me feel a bit alienated. I still felt alienated when I arrived back to the states because of the endless amount of sub-cultures, social statures, and varying ideologies that exist in our modern world.

I wanted to explore my curiosities about people and the different ways that people live and construct their realities. PhotograpIMG_3959hy has given me a reason to meet people and learn about life, not only others’ lives but also my own. I am now at UNCA working towards my BFA in photography. It has been nice to be around like-minded people who can help give feedback and be there to learn from.  I do not consider myself an artist, but instead just someone who is learning to convey meaning through photographs. The liberal arts have helped me to widen my view and learn about a variety of things rather than just focusing on photography. I am very appreciative of the well-rounded curriculum that has helped me to get out of my comfort zone and learn about history, art, and other things that I otherwise wouldn’t have.

Outside of school I work at Push skate shop and gallery part-time and do freelance photo work whenever it comes my way. I also try to stay busy working on personal projects and keeping up with photography through friends and research. Trying to stay active in photography even when not in school has led me to meet people who have given me freelance work and invaluable advice on photography. Most recently the Asheville Citizen-Times published my first personal project that I worked on completely outside of school, about a community garden in Pisgah View Apartments. I had a lot of assistance from friends, who gave me feedback and advice that was a huge help while working on my first long-term project. I worked on it for the past year between going to school and working. I am very appreciative for the men who work at the garden letting me document their lives. It took a lot of patience, research and persistence, but eventually it materialized into something that I am happy with. I am most proud of the fact that I was able to build relationships and friPVApeacegarden07endships with the guys at the garden.

I go to UNCA to learn and be around like-minded individuals, not to get a job. Although I think a degree can be helpful when getting jobs, I think it is more important to try to find a personal vision and something that you deeply care about, then people will take notice and work will follow. I am still working to find my vision and to stay motivated even when I don’t know exactly what my outcome will be. Beginning a project and staying motivated without having immediate outcome have been my biggest challenges. Going to school helps me to stay driven shooting photos, but my most valuable advice to students is to find a way to become self-motivated. You are not always going to have assignments to help guide you towards projects and ideas. Staying active in the things that you are passionate about even when you don’t have outside encouragement is what is important and will make people care about the work that you do.

Here is a link to my Pisgah View Apartments peace garden project on the Citizen-Times photo blog:

http://blogs2.citizen-times.com/photography/2014/07/11/sunday-frame-pisgah-view-peace-gardens/

Link to my blog:

http://georgeetheredge.tumblr.com

Contact:

George.etheredge@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

